Identity Crisis

Daily Prompt  provided by Daily Post

The dreaded question…”So, what do you do?” The question that always seems to weasel itself into the conversation when you meet someone new. I hated that question even when I had a job. I had a pretty interesting job, but I still hated answering that question. Number 1: I know you’re just making small talk, and I hate small talk. I don’t like to talk just for the sake of talking. Silence suits me just fine, at least until there is something worth while to say or hear. Number 2: You probably wouldn’t know if I told you, and that leads to more questions that I don’t want to answer.

After 15 years with the same company, I was surprised with a layoff from my pretty interesting job that I was pretty darn good at but didn’t like very much. Finally! I could devote full time hours to my lifelong dream of becoming a published author. When asked, “So, what do you do?” I could proudly say, “I’m a writer.” I am now ready for the not so dreaded, dreaded question.

At my very next social outing that I really wanted to skip, I was ready for the dreaded question. When the question came…

“So, what do you do?”

“Well…” I paused with a dazed look I’m sure, while my mind quickly scripted how the conversation would go. If I say I’m a writer, the following questions will be where, what, how, for who? Oh, I’ve written a screenplay that hasn’t seen the light of day, quite a few short stories, poems but I’m not really a poet, and a blog with one post on it. Yeah, not saying any of that. “Well, I was laid off from my job at CNN a few months ago.” which led to more questions that I didn’t want to answer.

So, I would rather claim the pretty interesting job that I was pretty darn good at but didn’t like very much and was just laid off from than my dream. I underestimated some things. Wow.

9 thoughts on “Identity Crisis

  1. I guess when someone ask you that question just say ” if I told you, I’ll have to kill you.” they will laugh and you don’t have to tell them what you do

Leave a Reply

